Tag Archives: Album

Album Stream: Syd – Fin

The Internet‘s frontwoman, Syd, takes a hiatus from the group to drop a more Pop-infused project, Fin.  Filled with soft and sultry tracks, her solo work is still gorgeous, but wouldn’t have fit the band’s trademark sound. “None of these songs would have made sense as Internet songs,” she explained.

Though Matt Martians will also drop a solo album, Internet fans need not worry as the band has expressed taking time off to mature and reunite.  Listen  via Spotify below.

Album Stream: Noname – Telefone

If you’ve been wondering where the quality female MCs have gone, look no further.  Chicago’s Noname (formerly Noname Gypsy) provides a mystical project entitled Telefone that successfully fuses elements of Hip Hop and Neo Soul.  Honest and reflective about matters of the heart, the album is a wispy mix of lyrical glory and wispy production that channels the likes of D’Angelo and Jill Scott.  Listen below via Soundcloud.

Album Stream: 9th Wonder – ZION

Legendary North Carolina producer 9th Wonder has dropped quite a spontaneous gem.  ZION,  a collection of 36 unreleased and rare tracks, is a treat for any pair of ears and the good news is that it’s only a tip of the proverbial iceberg.  According to watchLOUD, 9th revealed that he plans on “dropping every beat [he’s] ever made over the next few years,” so definitely stay tuned.  Listen to the project below.

Album Stream: Kanye West – The Life of Pablo

Kanye West has finally dropped his seventh album, The Life of Pablo, tonight after his SNL performance of intro track “Ultra Light Beam.”  Listen to the beautifully soulful album filled with outrageous punchlines and some of Kanye’s’ finest production without the need for a Tidal subscription here.




Pusha T – Darkest Before Dawn

Pusha T’s solo career is taken to new heights with yet another impressive body of work.  After dropping the lyrically impressive My Name Is My Name, Pusha T returns with his solid sophomore album, Darkest Before Dawn.  Pusha brings the bars again and the eclectic production is provided by Kanye West, Puff Daddy, Timbaland, Q-Tip and Hudson Mohawke.  Stream below via Spotify.

Album Stream: Kid Cudi – Speedin’ Bullet to Heaven

Fans have been anxiously awaiting the arrival of Kid Cudi‘s new album, Speedin’ Bullet to Heaven.  Self-described as “Alternative” instead of Hip Hop, the album is a far cry from his galactic production laced with melodies and rhythmic bars.  His latest creation is a harsh, cutting edge punk rock hodgepodge filled with guitars and angst.  Listen to the experimental project below via Spotify.

Album Stream: Erykah Badu – But You Caint Use My Phone

Inspired by Drake, Erykah Badu‘s mixtape, But You Caint Use My Phone, (which features a cover of his hit “Hotline Bling” ) is finally out for your listening pleasure.  Reflecting on the impact of cellular devices and relationships, the sensual production is groovy, yet more modern and futuristic than her other projects.  References to Usher‘s “U Don’t Have to Call” and New Edition‘s “Mr. Telephone Man” perfectly complement the album’s theme, but the standout track boasts her ex Andre 3000 on the otherworldly finale “Hello.”

Listen to the entire album here.


Album Stream: Ty Dolla $ign – Free TC

Multi-instrumentalist R&B artist Ty Dolla $ign is often credited with coining “ratchet music” with his longtime colleague YG,  but his studio debut, Free TC, ventures into a plethora of other sonic realms.  Strings, guitars, saxophones and keys offer a source of refreshment in R&B’s current electro-filled landscape.

The endless list of guest stars (ranging from 90s artists to present day) successfully manages to somehow complement the album’s production.  Check out the tracklist and listen below.

01 LA ft. Kendrick Lamar, Brandy & James Fauntleroy
02 Saved ft. E-40
03 Straight Up ft. Jagged Edge
04 Solid ft. Babyface
05 Horses in the Stable
06 Know Ya ft. Trey Songz
07 Credit ft. Sevyn Streeter
08 Miracle/Wherever ft. Big TC & D-Loc
09 Guard Down ft. Kanye West & Diddy
10 Sitting Pretty ft. Wiz Khalifa
11 When I See Ya ft. Fetty Wap
12 Blase ft. Future & Rae Sremmurd
13 Only Right ft. YG, Joe Moses & TeeCee4800
14 Bring It Out of Me
15 Actress ft. R. Kelly
16 Finale ft. SA-RA & PJ

Album Stream: MED, Blu and Madlib – Bad Neighbor

After dropping the solid “Finer Things” from their new collaborative project Bad NeighborMED, Blu and Madlib‘s entire album is now available for streaming.  Check out the tracklist below and listen via Spotify.

  1. Greetings
  2. Serving (feat. Hodgy Beats)
  3. Peroxide (feat. Dam-Funk & DJ Romes)
  4. Get Money (feat. Frank Nitt)
  5. Streets (feat. Oh No & DJ Romes)
  6. The Stroll (feat. AMG)
  7. Knock Knock (feat. MF Doom)
  8. Mad Neighbor
  9. The Strip (feat. Anderson .Paak)
  10. Finer Things (feat. Likewise & Phonte)
  11. Burgundy Whip (feat. Jimetta Rose)
  12. Drive In (feat. Aloe Blacc)
  13. Belly Full (feat. Black Spade)
  14. Birds
  15. The Buzz (feat. Mayer Hawthorne)